Professor Andrew Boyle is an Interventional Cardiologist currently consulting at both the Lake Macquarie Private Hospital and the John Hunter Hospital. Andrew has a particular interest in studying the mechanism of heart failure following a heart attack and different methods to regenerate a damaged heart muscle.

Professor Boyle gained a postdoctoral position at the prestigious John Hopkins University in the United States after completing his PhD in cardiac regeneration at the University of Melbourne. He is an avid learner and has been involved in a number of studies and clinical trials. Through his research and clinical practice, Andrew aims to innovate and advance cardiovascular medicine and interventional cardiology. He has authored over 100 peer-reviewed research papers and book chapters.

Andrew holds fellowships with the Society of Cardiac Angiography and Intervention, the American Heart Association and the American College of Cardiology. A keen educator, he is a Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Head of Discipline at the University of Newcastle and is also the Clinical Dean of the Hunter Clinical School of the University of Newcastle.

Professor Andrew Boyle has greatly contributed his clinical knowledge through his continued studies, particularly in the areas of cardiovascular outcomes following heart attacks and left ventricular remodelling.

Procedures & Conditions

Procedures Performed
  • Transcatheter Aortic Valve Implantation (TAVI)
  • Coronary Artery Stenting
  • Balloon Valvuloplasty
  • Structural Heart Intervention
Conditions Treated
  • Aortic Stenosis


  • Interventional Cardiologist
    Lake Macquarie Private Hospital Present
  • Interventional Cardiologist
    John Hunter Hospital Present
  • Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Head of Discipline
    University of Newcastle
  • Clinical Dean
    Hunter Clinical School of the University of Newcastle


Professional Memberships and Affiliations
  • 2010

    Fellow of the Society for Cardiac Angiography and Intervention

  • 2009

    Fellow of the American Heart Association

  • 2008

    Fellow of the American College of Cardiology